Top students honored at Renaissance Assembly

By Cedric Mendiola

Every year there are a handful of students in each grade level that go above and beyond to be recognized  by the staff here at Saddleback. These students were honored during the Renaissance Assembly on June 5th and their pictures were shown during a slide show.

The top Freshman students were: Grecia Abarca, Daisy Gonzalez, Michelle Nguyen, Angel Torres, Yadira Verastegui, Bich Nguyen, Ngoc Nguyen, Yasmin Romero, and Anh-Vy Phan.

The top Sophomores were Daisy Barroso, Mindy Le, Carlos Praxedis, Jimmie Melchor, Victor Gonzalez, Guadalupe Terrones, Daniel Guadarrama, Sergio Chavez, and Luis Benitez.

The top Juniors were Vanessa Gonzalez, An Ho, Celeste Garcia, Tyler Nguyen, Nayeli Gonzalez, Susan Gonzalez, Miguel Toledo, Denise Garcia, Aurora Rocha, and Luis Terrones.

And lastly, the top Seniors were Alonso De La Torre, Jenny Nguyen, Gaby Carillo, Evonne Bui,  Teresa Chavez, Maria Garcia, Valerie Quiroz, Laura Perez, and Jennifer Perez.

These students overcame hardships in school and have managed to find a balance in school and in their clubs. Sophomore Victor Gonzalez says, “It feels amazing to be recognized. All my hard work and sacrifices have paid off in the end, considering I had to juggle my time with school work, clubs, and sports.” Senior Gaby Carrillo says, “I feel very proud of myself. I worked very hard to get where I am, including moments where I have had to choose school over my social life or family gatherings. In the end I know it has been worth it, and it fills me with pride.”

Leave a comment